A Mouthful Of Earth



“What feeling is so nice as a child’s hand in yours?

So small, so soft and warm, like a kitten huddling in the shelter of your clasp.”

–       By Marjorie Holmes

Such is the warmth of one’s life that is blessed with the grace of a small child. I am sure all mothers and fathers too have felt and enjoyed the soft tickle when they see their little ones stumbling over a soft toy or watch their little one’s ‘cute’ activities. My two year old makes my life even more beautiful and interesting. His innocent smile, his actions fill me with verve and motivate me to give my best. He is so tender, so sweet, so innocent, and so loving. There is no space for downheartedness in his life and no downtime for any one else around him.

Last week he led me through yet another experience that will sit fresh on my mind for years to come. It was not as divine as the one Yashoda, the mother of Lord Krishna had. Yashoda was in her courtyard attending her day-to-day chores when she noticed little Krishna eating dirt from under the tree. When she asked him to open his mouth, he replied with sheer innocence, “Mom, I have not eaten anything and there’s nothing in my mouth”. And then he opened his mouth to prove that he was not lying. Yashoda got a shock of her life when she saw the entire universe in his little son’s mouth; his divinity was exposed. Krishna was not like other boys of his age. He was the enlightened one with powers to disguise himself. Like other kids his age, Krishna also made his mother think that she was out of her mind. Feeling sorry for herself, she quietly picked him up and took him to clean. Like all mothers she warned him not to do that again.

Divinity Unveiled

Like Yashoda, I was also taking care of my everyday chores. I was sitting on the day bed with my laptop, right next to the big sliding door leading to the backyard and browsing the Internet. Saavi was playing in the garden with his new blue and yellow, Fischer Price, tri-cycle. I was there so that I could keep an eye on him and stop him from running out of the main gate. I was not too worried as my older one was also outside practicing his roller skates.  We all were having a good time and as per the unwritten contract nobody tried to disturb each other.

All of a sudden that stillness was broken by Sid’s panicky voice, “Mom, mom, Saavi is eating something from the ground.” I looked up and saw that my little one was nowhere near his trike. He had something in his hands and his mouth was bulged up like the Hindu monkey god,Hanuman’s. Whatever was in there was trying hard to come out. In my hastened rush towards my curious toddler, I expected that he might have put some dirt or a rock or both in his mouth. On reaching him, I sternly asked him, “What’s in your mouth? Open.” He quickly and obediently followed my directions.  I was stunned to witness what happened next. Against my expectations, a lot of pebbles came jutting out of his little mouth. That was a moment for me, it was hard for me to control or even hide my smile.  I didn’t know how to respond to it. I felt like Yashoda, but without the feeling of embarrassment. I said, “ No…, No…,” and slowly picked him up and took him to the sink.

A mouthful of Pebbles

2 comments on “A Mouthful Of Earth

  1. These are the events which takes place in everyone’s life when their kids are growing but few have the ability of expression, foresight and vocabulary to put it in black and white. This is what we call as the talent. Some have a poetic bend of mind and may put the same in rhyme. An example would be of Subhadra Kumari Chauhan’s poem “Mera Bachpan”, where she writes :
    …..WOH MITTI KHA KAR AAYEE THI
    KUCHH MUHN MEIN KUCH LIYE HAATH MEIN
    MUJHE KHILANE AAYEE THI
    MAINE POONCHHA YE KYA LAYEE
    BOL UTHI WOH ‘MAA KAO’
    HUA PRAPHULLIT HRIDAY KHUSHI SE
    MAINE KAHA TUMHI KHAO
    AAJA BACHPAN EK BAR PHIR
    DE DE APNI MADHUR MUSKAN……

    It is a very good attempt to improve one’s skills of observing small things of life and then expressing it in words. Every day from time immemorial we have been watching the apple to fall from tree to the ground, but it was Newton who saw it and proposed the theory of Gravity. Similarly, Kabir too observed things of day to day life with a different angle. We do not know how many times each of us has seen a palm tree, but nothing came to our mind. However, when Kabir saw it he said:

    BADA HUA TO KYA HUA, JAISE PED KHAJOOR
    PANTHI KO CHHAYA NAHI, PHAL LAGE ATI DOOR

    With blessings

    • I am so happy that you liked this and it’s an honor to get such nice comments from you. Your knowledge, your wisdom and your lines embellish my blog. Thank you so much

Leave a Reply

