My American Dream


American Dream

“The cab stopped at the end of the road. Just ahead were stairs that appeared endless. The tall pine trees were the only things that could be seen in the dark.  That narrow stairs in front of her looked like a tunnel. It was creepy. For few moments she stood there, all by herself scared and confused.Then she pulled herself together and took the first step, unexpectedly the stairs started moving up by itself. She held herself tight and within few seconds she was at the end of the stairway.

Her eyes opened wide to see the inconceivable beauty all around her. It was a magnificent, a beautiful lush garden with lots of flowers of all colors. Sound of music coming out from waterfall and fountains filled her with astonishment and bliss. At the corner stood a statue of a lady in white, with her one hand raised up. There was no place for anything else, but happiness. From there she could see the world and hear a cuckoo calling, again and again and again… annoyed and perplexed she got off of the bed.”

America is like this dream. It’s a dream, which, youths through out the world wish to live. The dream of wealth, of opportunities, of freedom, of life and of luxuries brings them here. Some people fulfill that dream and others keep fantasizing about it through out their life. If one does dare to dream, then America is the place where you can accomplish it for sure.

I came here in year 2002 with a simple desire of having a small and happy family. A family in which, both my husband and I could support each other and have a house of our own. We envisioned ourselves, standing side-by-side and learning and growing both knowledgeably and spiritually. I started working towards that vision. I took some courses in computers like Microsoft Office, Adobe Page Maker and Photoshop. Then one day, while talking to a close friend of mine a thought of making a difference in others’ lives sprouted. That conversation led me into the efforts of wanting to become a teacher in US. Soon, after that I cleared the CBEST and the American Constitution Test and got enrolled in San Jose State University in the Department of Education.

I will always remember the first day of my class in the Department of Education at SJSU. I was impressed to see the diversity among the applicants. It was a mixed group comprising of both males and females, from myriad fields and most amazing was the age-range. Everyone from 20’s to 60’s was equally enthusiastic. Even the people in there sixties have aspirations and they were so motivated. At that time I realized that it is true that there is no age limit for learning. And this could only be practiced in America.

I aspired and perspired and occasionally I suffered too, but eventually I met my goal in March of 2009.  In the spring of each year, the education department of San Jose State University conducts a small ceremony to recognize the hard work of all the candidates who complete their teaching program in that academic year. During that event all candidates present were  expected to talk about their accomplishments for few minutes. It was the proudest moment of my life, talking about my achievement. I am in process of finding a job. And soon, I will be a schoolteacher, trying out new things, imparting new information to my students and will live my vision.

I am standing on the verge of achieving my dream, only because I am breathing in American air. This could have been next to impossible, if I had been in India. Although a great nation and very close to my heart but there, it is difficult for a woman to study and then have a job after she is married and have kids.

America is a land of dreams and choices without any boundaries. I consider myself lucky that I am a part of this big and generous country.

***

“America lives in the heart of every man everywhere who wishes to find a region where he will be free to work out his destiny as he chooses.”

Woodrow Wilson (1856 – 1924)


Leave a Reply

